Beerwah Glasshouse United

The first Season 1968

The first season of the revived competition comprised 4 clubs – Caloundra, Woombye, Maroochydore and Beerwah-Glasshouse United. After some pre-season friendlies the first season comprised 2 rounds (6 fixtures per club) although there are suggestions there were 3 rounds (9 fixtures per club). Reporting in the local newspaper, The Nambour Chronicle, suggest that only 5 fixtures were played in this revival season. Games were played as double-headers and alternated around the club’s home grounds:


Glasshouse Mountains Sportsground

Caloundra – Henzell Park

Woombye – Woombye Sportsground

Maroochydore – Cotton Tree Oval

Jersey colours were:

Beerwah-Glasshouse United – all green (they played in rugby league jumpers for the first season)

Caloundra – red

Woombye – white

Maroochydore – maroon (in t-shirts supplied by the Caloundra club). There are suggestions that Maroochydore’s colours were yellow.

Beerwah-Glasshouse United (referred to in The Nambour Chronicle as simply Beerwah) were undefeated premiers in the 1968 season and were presented with the NCSA (North Coast Soccer Association) shield by the NCSA president, Jock Graham. 
There was also a final series played culminating in a Beerwah-Glasshouse United – Woombye grand final at Henzell Park, Caloundra. 
Beerwah-Glasshouse United defeated Woombye 5-0 to clinch the premiership-championship double. Goal scorers for Beerwah-Glasshouse United were Mario Cuccuru, Tony Civico, Fidel Fernandez and Ken Fullerton.

You can download and or simply read our extensive history see PDF below.

Download or view History PDF